Official city hearing noticeDentonDenton CountyCommunity
PUBLISHED October 15, 2026 · EVENT October 27 hearing scheduled · VERIFIED October 15, 2026
Denton schedules public hearing on proposed data-center moratorium
The City of Denton's published notice schedules a public hearing on a proposed moratorium affecting data-center development applications on Tuesday, October 27, at 6:30 p.m. in City Hall, 215 E. McKinney St. The notice describes a proposal for city limits and, as applicable, the extraterritorial jurisdiction; it does not establish that a moratorium has been enacted.
PROJECT STAGEPublic hearing scheduled · moratorium proposed
WHY IT MATTERSThis is a specific opportunity for residents to speak to land-use and infrastructure concerns before a decision. The City explains public-hearing comments and possible eComment availability on its public-meetings page. Check the posted agenda closer to the date, since the hearing notice is not a final ordinance or vote record.
Company announcement + official city statementEncinalLa Salle CountyPower
PUBLISHED October 14, 2026 · EVENT September 30 announcement · VERIFIED October 14, 2026
Encinal power and data-center campuses proposed as Project Star
Related Companies, NextEra Energy Resources and Lewis Energy Group announced a proposed $22.3 billion natural-gas generation campus near Encinal, La Salle County, designed for 6.47 GW of capacity. At full scale, the developers say it would serve an adjacent, privately funded 5 GW data-center campus being developed by Related Digital, with excess generation intended for the grid. The City of Encinal separately describes the power facility as proposed and says it wants local infrastructure and business opportunities to be part of the discussion.
PROJECT STAGEDeveloper proposal · permits and approvals pending
WHY IT MATTERSThe scale makes power, water, roads and local contracting important questions for Encinal residents. The developers anticipate initial generation as early as 2029, subject to required permits and approvals; the announcement does not establish that construction has begun, power is operating, jobs are open, or projected community benefits have been delivered. Residents can follow the City's agenda center and La Salle County Commissioners Court records for project-specific actions.
Official state registrationsJaytonKent CountyProjects
PUBLISHED October 11, 2026 · EVENT October 1 registrations · VERIFIED October 11, 2026
Two Project Hyper data-center buildings registered near Jayton
TDLR registrations TABS2027002494 and TABS2027002499 describe two privately funded, single-story data-center buildings near County Road 233 and P2390 in Jayton, Kent County. Each filing lists 759,262 square feet and a $2.4 billion estimated construction cost, for a combined 1,518,524 square feet and $4.8 billion in filed estimates. The owner entities are Spur DC Owner 1 LLC and Spur DC Owner 2 LLC; neither filing assigns a tenant.
PROJECT STAGETDLR registered · construction and tenant unconfirmed
WHY IT MATTERSThese official registrations create a specific local record residents can track. They do not confirm that construction has started, that permits or power are secured, who will operate the buildings, or that projected costs and dates will be realized. Kent County residents can cite the two TDLR numbers when checking Commissioners Court agendas for project-specific road, water, emergency-response and incentive discussions.
Official city status pageSan AngeloTom Green CountyCommunity
PUBLISHED October 10, 2026 · EVENT City status checked October 10 · VERIFIED October 10, 2026
San Angelo says no data-center development application has been filed
The City of San Angelo's current data-center information page says it has not received a development application establishing facility size, utility needs or development requirements for a project within city limits. The City identifies a possible site northeast of San Angelo near U.S. Highway 67 North and City Farm Road, but says project-size and utility claims remain premature until property is purchased and an application is submitted.
PROJECT STAGEPossible site · no development application on file
WHY IT MATTERSThis is an official status limit, not evidence that the proposal has ended. Residents can use the City's source page and public-information-request link to distinguish filed documents from estimates, presentations and rumors as the discussion continues.
Official state registrationCedar CreekBastrop CountyProjects
PUBLISHED October 9, 2026 · EVENT October 7 registration · VERIFIED October 9, 2026
Cedar Creek data-center building registered as Project Longhorn
TDLR registration TABS2027002962 lists Project Longhorn – Building One near Earl Callahan and Walter Hoffman roads in Cedar Creek, Bastrop County. The filing describes a 498,165-square-foot data center, an estimated $366 million construction cost and a planned November 30 start. Its status is Project Registered and its tenant is not assigned. The filing does not confirm a construction start, required approvals or a link to any separately reported campus.
PROJECT STAGETDLR registered · construction unconfirmed
WHY IT MATTERSResidents can use the exact filing number and location to check future county agendas and ask where project-specific water, power and road plans will be available. The cost and dates are filing estimates, not money spent or work completed.
Local vote report + official city proposalTaylorWilliamson CountyCommunity
PUBLISHED October 8, 2026 · EVENT October 8 Council vote · VERIFIED October 9, 2026
Taylor council approves 664-acre campus agreement, local reports say
CBS Austin reports that Taylor City Council voted 5–0 on October 8 to approve an annexation and development agreement for the 664-acre Taylor Technology Campus, developed by Big Watt Digital and PowerHouse Data Centers. The City's pre-vote summary described terms for reclaimed-water cooling, noise, setbacks and utility connections, plus $28.2 million in developer community commitments. The final executed text and delivery of those commitments remain to be checked.
PROJECT STAGECouncil approval reported · final text pending review
WHY IT MATTERSThe reported vote advances city oversight of the site, but is not a construction start or proof of delivered benefits. Taylor residents can compare the final agreement with the City's pre-vote summary when the adopted document is available; the 20-year tax figure remains a projection.
Official city recordAbileneTaylor CountyCommunity
PUBLISHED October 7, 2026 · EVENT September 10–15, 2026 · VERIFIED October 7, 2026
Abilene budgets one-time data-center construction tax surplus
The City of Abilene says its revised FY2026 budget includes a $19.3 million one-time sales-tax surplus it expects from data-center construction. The adopted budget uses temporary revenue for projects, vehicles and equipment, including a $13.5 million one-time contribution to the firefighters' pension fund, rather than ongoing operating expenses.
PROJECT STAGEAdopted budget · expected one-time revenue
WHY IT MATTERSThis is a measurable local fiscal impact with an important limit: expected construction-phase receipts are temporary and do not establish permanent operating revenue or every future community benefit.
Company announcedSouth TexasUndisclosedPower
PUBLISHED September 25, 2026 · EVENT September 25, 2026 · VERIFIED September 28, 2026
Unnamed South Texas campus advances through ERCOT Batch Zero
Gray Oak Power says a South Texas data-center campus advanced through ERCOT's Batch Zero process, targeting initial power in 2028 and grid power in 2029. The company did not disclose the city, tenant or campus capacity.
PROJECT STAGEWatch item · location undisclosed
WHY IT MATTERSThe announcement is a regional interconnection signal, but Batch Zero participation is an audit step—not project approval or confirmation of construction.
Official recordsGarland + LewisvilleDallas + Denton countiesProjects
PUBLISHED September 24, 2026 · EVENT September 24, 2026 · VERIFIED September 28, 2026
Digital Realty registers Garland and Lewisville Phase 2 additions
Two TDLR registrations identify $20 million Phase 2 shell additions for Digital Realty's DFW39 in Garland and DFW44 in Lewisville. Each filing describes a future fourth data hall and a January–October 2027 schedule.
PROJECT STAGERegistered · future construction
WHY IT MATTERSThe filings create a visible design and construction signal, but registration does not prove that construction has begun or that future phases will proceed unchanged.
Official recordStatewideMultiple countiesWater & permits
PUBLISHED September 24, 2026 · EVENT September 24, 2026 · VERIFIED September 28, 2026
Attorney General opens data-center water-reporting investigation
The Texas Attorney General announced an investigation into hundreds of developments alleged to have missed Texas Water Development Board water-use survey requirements. Initial counties include Harris, Montgomery, Travis, Dallas, Tarrant, Bexar, Tom Green, Potter, Nueces and El Paso; individual projects were not named.
PROJECT STAGEInvestigation opened
WHY IT MATTERSThe investigation raises the consequence of incomplete water reporting while leaving project-level responsibility unresolved until named evidence is released.
Official recordStatewideTexasPower
PUBLISHED September 24, 2026 · EVENT September 24, 2026 · VERIFIED October 7, 2026
ERCOT opens voluntary audit route for newly substantiated 25–75 MW loads
ERCOT created a voluntary route for newly substantiated 25–75 MW data-center loads to participate in the State and Community Impact request for information. Voluntary participation requests were due October 5 and completed responses are due October 12.
PROJECT STAGEAudit participation window
WHY IT MATTERSThe route broadens the audit record below the original large-load threshold. Participation is not an interconnection approval or confirmation of construction.
Official recordFort WorthDenton CountyProjects
PUBLISHED September 22, 2026 · EVENT September 22, 2026 · VERIFIED September 28, 2026
Colovore Alliance registers a four-hall Fort Worth proposal
A TDLR registration identifies a privately funded, $430 million, 156,500-square-foot facility at 14700 Heritage Parkway with four data halls and a December 2026–December 2028 filing schedule.
PROJECT STAGERegistered proposal
WHY IT MATTERSThe filing creates a project-specific design and contractor signal, but a registered project is not a verified construction start.
Official directiveStatewideTexasRegulation
PUBLISHED September 21, 2026 · EVENT September 21, 2026 · VERIFIED September 28, 2026
Texas halts TCEQ permits sought by data centers during audits
Governor Abbott directed TCEQ to halt permits sought by data centers until ERCOT completes its audit. The pause follows the earlier grid-approval audit and adds state environmental authorizations to the projects that may be delayed.
PROJECT STAGEState permit pause
WHY IT MATTERSEvery proposed or building record now needs a permit-audit caveat: local approval, a filing or even site work may not mean all required state authorizations are available.
Court filing + reportingSan AntonioBexar CountyRegulation
PUBLISHED September 21, 2026 · EVENT September 21, 2026 · VERIFIED September 28, 2026
Environmental groups sue over San Antonio campus power permitting
Public Citizen, Sierra Club and the Environmental Integrity Project filed a federal Clean Air Act complaint concerning gas-fired power facilities supporting Vantage TX11 and TX21. The suit seeks to stop construction and operation pending major-source permitting; the claims remain allegations, not a court finding.
PROJECT STAGEFederal litigation pending
WHY IT MATTERSThe case could affect project timing and clarifies that behind-the-meter generation still carries project-specific air-permitting risk.
Company + county recordsRio Hondo areaCameron CountyProjects
PUBLISHED September 21, 2026 · EVENT September 10–21, 2026 · VERIFIED September 28, 2026
Fluidstack announces construction start near Rio Hondo
Fluidstack says it began construction on a $4 billion first phase in unincorporated Cameron County near Rio Hondo, planned for up to 1.5 GW. The county worksite permit covers clearing, grading, roads, drainage and utilities; separate building permits remain required.
PROJECT STAGESite work / construction announced
WHY IT MATTERSThis advances the project beyond a planning-only label while preserving the distinction between site work, building authorization and eventual operation.
Company announcedStatewideTexasPower
PUBLISHED September 5, 2026 · EVENT August 7, 2026 · VERIFIED September 5, 2026
Stream backs stronger Texas grid audits
Stream Data Centers said it supports the governor’s call for additional utility audits and greater oversight of large-load grid use. The statement describes Stream’s position and company-reported practices; it does not create a rule or independently verify performance at a specific campus.
PROJECT STAGECompany policy position
WHY IT MATTERSA major Texas developer publicly accepting more scrutiny shows that infrastructure transparency and community accountability are becoming competitive requirements.
Independently reportedStatewideTexasCommunity
PUBLISHED September 3, 2026 · EVENT August 2026 poll · VERIFIED September 3, 2026
Texas data-center growth faces a public-trust test
Only 30% of respondents in an August Texas Politics Project poll supported building a data center in their community. Reuters reports growing bipartisan scrutiny of incentives, rural development, power and water impacts. Campaign proposals are proposals—not enacted law.
PROJECT STAGEPublic opinion and policy positioning
WHY IT MATTERSCommunity acceptance is now a measurable development constraint. Cities pursuing projects will need transparent, enforceable benefit agreements and operating protections.
Official record + reportingProsperDenton CountyProjects
PUBLISHED September 1, 2026 · EVENT September 1, 2026 · VERIFIED October 4, 2026
Prosper commission recommends denying Project Tomahawk · historical record
Prosper's Planning and Zoning Commission voted 7–0 to recommend denial of rezoning for a proposed $580 million, approximately 225,000-square-foot data center on 37.3 acres. The September 8 hearing date is past. Town notice confirms applicant withdrawal; see the October 4 resolution. The P&Z recommendation was not a final council denial.
PROJECT STAGEHistorical recommendation · see correction
WHY IT MATTERSThe case shows that proximity to power does not replace enforceable answers on water, noise, permitted uses and community protections.
Official hearing + reportingStatewideTexasWater & permits
PUBLISHED September 1, 2026 · EVENT September 1, 2026 hearing · VERIFIED September 3, 2026
Texas water survey exposes a statewide information gap
At a Texas Senate hearing, a Texas Water Development Board official said the agency sent mandatory water-use surveys to 324 data centers and received responses from only 30%. Researchers estimated about 33 billion gallons of direct Texas data-center water use in 2025 while stressing that future demand remains uncertain.
PROJECT STAGELegislative oversight
WHY IT MATTERSTexas lacks a dependable facility-level water baseline, limiting planning and making broad claims difficult to verify.
Reported + company/SEC recordsCorpus Christi areaNueces CountyProjects
PUBLISHED September 1, 2026 · EVENT August 31, 2026 · VERIFIED September 1, 2026
Reported $35 billion Anthropic–Lambda deal tied to Beacon Point
Reuters reports an approximately 350 MW cloud agreement involving Anthropic and Lambda at Hut 8's Beacon Point campus. Hut 8 separately confirms a planned 1 GW Nueces County campus with two contracted 352 MW phases. The tenant relationship is not company-confirmed, and the reported cloud deal must not be combined with underlying lease values.
PROJECT STAGEUnder construction · 704 MW contracted
WHY IT MATTERSIf confirmed, the report identifies the workload customer and cloud provider behind one of Texas' largest AI campuses.
Official scope + reportingFort WorthTarrant CountyProjects
PUBLISHED August 28, 2026 · EVENT August 25, 2026 · VERIFIED September 1, 2026
Fort Worth approves revised Black Mountain site plan
Fort Worth considered amendments covering 187 acres near Lon Stephenson Road and Anglin Drive. The official agenda identifies a 70-foot maximum building height, revised setbacks, parking and a substation. Reporting says Council approved the revised plan 7–4; this was a site-plan amendment, not a new approval of the entire campus.
PROJECT STAGERevised site plan approved
WHY IT MATTERSThe project is a case study in revising an entitled campus after neighborhood concern and separating enforceable standards from assurances.
Official recordAustinTravis CountyRegulation
PUBLISHED August 30, 2026 · EVENT August 27, 2026 · VERIFIED September 1, 2026
Austin begins expedited data-center rulemaking
Austin City Council directed staff to draft data-center definitions, district rules and standards for setbacks, screening, noise, monitoring, operating plans and permits. The action begins rulemaking; it does not itself enact a permanent hyperscale ban.
PROJECT STAGECode amendments initiated
WHY IT MATTERSAustin's framework could become a model for other Texas cities balancing development with resource disclosure and neighborhood safeguards.
Reported from company statementsPecosReeves CountyWorkforce
PUBLISHED August 28, 2026 · EVENT Announcement date not disclosed · VERIFIED September 1, 2026
Pecos workforce-housing expansion targets data-center construction
Armadillo Workforce Housing says it will expand its modular lodging fleet, with the largest expansion planned for Pecos and mobile units deployable to remote construction sites. Capacity figures remain company claims until independently documented.
PROJECT STAGEWorkforce-lodging expansion announced
WHY IT MATTERSThe announcement is evidence that West Texas data-center construction is affecting lodging and logistics before many campuses become operational.
Company announcedHoustonHarris CountyTechnology
PUBLISHED August 31, 2026 · EVENT August 31, 2026 · VERIFIED September 1, 2026
Houston-based SLB makes $4.1 billion cooling acquisition
SLB agreed to acquire thermal-management supplier Kelvion for $3.4 billion in cash and assume approximately $700 million of debt. SLB says data centers are Kelvion's largest and fastest-growing market; closing is expected in the first half of 2027, subject to approvals.
PROJECT STAGEDefinitive acquisition agreement
WHY IT MATTERSThe transaction strengthens Houston's position as an AI-infrastructure supply-chain center even when physical campuses are built elsewhere.
Official directive + reportingStatewideTexasPower
PUBLISHED September 1, 2026 · EVENT August 3, 2026 directive · VERIFIED September 1, 2026
Texas audit puts 'ghost demand' risk in focus
Texas' approximately 474 GW large-load request queue may include duplicate, speculative or financially immature projects. The state audit seeks ownership, water, incentive and onsite-generation information before additional projects advance. The queue total is a request figure—not a construction forecast.
PROJECT STAGEAudit and connection review underway
WHY IT MATTERSPipeline totals can overstate likely construction. Records need confidence stages that distinguish an inquiry from contracted power, construction and energization.